Rumours of the New Companion

The Coronation Street and The Chase star is reportedly set to join Jodie Whittaker in the TARDIS.

I don’t watch The Chase, so I don’t know who Bradley Walsh is. I found this video, and I know he’s just playing the part of a game show host and I don’t know if he’s going to laugh, but I don’t know about what kind of companion he will be either. He has an Eccleston-ish look (having gone away and thought about it, he is more similar to Neil Flynn who plays Mike in The Middle). I just don’t know if this will resolve the issue of the sluggish Appreciation Index… or it might attract a new portion of target audience.

On the plus side, with the right writing, he might bring about a new level of hilarity to the show.

Let’s look at some samples of Jodie Whittaker’s stylings in the following video,

I was looking for footage of her on her own, unbranded. I have seen the interviews she did with Radio 1 and if she brings that energy to the role of the Doctor, she’s going to be awesome. This is a sample of her acting. The writing feels a bit wooden, like they’re speaking how an author might write it in a book, so it’s hard to tell. But she is believable in the role, which means she might very well be amazing in a truly spectacular, fully scoped, fun, role-of-a-lifetime like The Doctor.

I suppose we can only speculate now, because the rumours about Bradley Walsh may not be true. It may appeal to the target demographic that loves the Classic era, but what do I know? I am so far from usual, that I just know that I don’t tend to ever select what the mainstream audience usually chooses.

As with all of Doctor Who, I’ll give it a chance and hope for the best, try to enjoy it for what it becomes. None of us like change do we? I was delighted by Chris Eccleston, David Tennant, Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi… so let’s hope for that magical pentacle – five in a row.

Can you imagine what they’d be like together? Please let me know in the comments below.

Here’s a Bonus Haiku for you too… have a nice day

The Doctor And Friend
In TARDIS, Around the Bend
Time and Space Laughing

© Nicki Ki

Leave a Reply

