Doctor who is a lady in a small wooden box that travels through time and space

Thirteenth Doctor Who, Who are You?

Doctor who is a lady in a small wooden box that travels through time and space
Doctor Who is a lady in a small wooden box that travels through time and space…

Well, it’s been some time since I’ve written about Doctor Who, and it’s not because of anything other than writing takes up more time than I have with everything else happening. I’ve been watching the new Series from Christopher Eccleston’s regeneration, and I’ve just moved onto David Tennant. Loving it. Working up to writing some more in depth reviews. If only I had a time  machine eh? I’d hover in a gap of 5 minutes and write for hours of earth hours.

So I received the news that the Doctor was going to regenerate into a lady-shaped body in good humour. I felt finally, I could enjoy the show relating to the Doctor in new ways. I know it’s going to provoke outrage, men feel emasculated. It’s not true, they aren’t actually being emasculated, it just seems that way due to perceptions that may need to shift with the force of Thor’s thrustful hammer.

But I do wonder if we’re going to experience more resistance as the tender gender bias is challenged. I sincerely hope that the show doesn’t end up the same way Torchwood did. There are certain things that work, and individual stories are one of them. This is what makes Star Trek so good, and so prolific. I have similar fears over the new Star Trek and whether it is just planning to be an overlong, single note movie bedecked in lens flares.

So, back to the subject of my post, then I started working on several TARDIS canvases using distinctly different techniques, I plan on sharing these as they progress. This one was my favourite concept, I liked the look of monochrome with hints of blue and a cheeky streak or two of pink. What would she look like? I suppose this is important for the costume designer to get right. But in the absence of any source material at all, I started shaping her onto the canvas using a small brush and a few reference pictures of her facial features.

I included a bow tie as a nod to Matt Smith, and a waistcoat and red lined tailored coat to wink at Peter Capaldi – what a doctor. I really need to get reviewing the last season because it was just brilliant. I do not know what the sad people are on about, I do wonder if they watched the same show as me? Science Fiction is by it’s very nature, socially, and politically experimental. It enables writers and thinkers to project ideas into other contexts so that we can learn something new about how we experience the world. Seriously, read some Asimov, it’ll blow your mind!

So the original artwork is bigger than my usual miniature canvases — need to check but I reckon it’s 40″ x 50″…and she’s not for sale. But I am willing to share her, and to that end, she is available at my shop on RedBubble — Please stop by. She also looks good on other things, so please take a few moments to enjoy her in other ways. I’d appreciate that so much. Thank you.

© Nicki Ki
All Rights Reserved
3 thoughts on “Thirteenth Doctor Who, Who are You?

    1. He was a challenging one.. he was a bit patriarchal in places, but some lovely monologues… I quite liked the dark glasses and electric guitar – silly fun. But I am looking forward to the change… I really hope the writing is good. I watch it for the ideas and stories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

