Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular Angles

Angular

This week’s Photo Challenge theme is all about Angularity… I trawled through my humungous photo archives to bring you this selection of both natural and manmade – horizontal, vertical, parallel, orthogonal and diagonal lines…

Here’s a little about the pictures…

The Egyptian obelisk was taken in Paris in 2005, when I knew nothing about composition, but I loved the vibrance of the blue sky, and the way it almost offsets the golden inscriptions. Below the obelisk are angular leaves backdropped by the large conservatory at Kew Gardens.

The Tower of London and The Gherkin in the background contrasts old architecture, with new. The picture below is a building also taken in London, unfortunately I didn’t keep a note of where it was, the left side is reflection.

Keys to Heaven were taken at the Polka Theatre in Wimbledon, and below that Cacti and the spiky ball plant demonstrate angularity in nature juxtaposed against the symmetry of their hothouse.

Last two on the far right, above are ivy plants trained to grow along angular cables, and below that, symmetry in large leaves, provide horizontal and vertical lines.

It’s been a funny old week. I’ve been studying for a test I’m taking tomorrow. General self doubt has cleared somewhat with some actions I’ve taken (I feel like I’ve made a good choice anyway)… it’s a long old path to a peak, and I’m still not entirely sure where I am exactly on this uphill cycle, but I’m trying to take in the scenery instead of letting the destination override its beauty.

I haven’t had excessive free time for much of anything I usually enjoy, it feels as though the daily 24-hour allocation of hours has somehow shortened, as I run from here, to there, to there, to there, getting a lot done, yet having very little to show for it.

I hit upon a breakthrough over the past few weeks. A personal matter has resolved itself (in my head, where everything weighs the most) resulting in the loved and beloved ones breathing huge sighs of relief.

I started a series of poems called Open Heart Poetry, (#openheartpoetry) I’ll be plopping these into posts from time to time, and schedule permitting, will be more involved in the blogosphere throughout December… I am aware that I’ve neglected reading all of my favourites, and if it’s any consolation, I look forward to catching up with you in the near future.

Positive Mental Attitude is always the way forward…

 

All

Just because
The only bytes

you see

in
me

Leap into existence
Like Schrödinger’s cat

Still

Doesn’t mean
That’s all
There is

© Nicki Ki
All Rights Reserved

21 Comments

      1. The enigmatic cat shows up in unexpected places. I wrote a legal brief not long ago, and the judge’s opinion made reference to Schrodinger’s insurance, where a car could be insured and not insured at the same time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm! Great question 🙂 … I think it’s Key’s to Heaven… they hang outside a church, available to anyone, and yet very rusted… there’s a real metaphor in there, that the picture conveys more effortlessly than words… The other pictures, while aesthetically pleasing, probably don’t have as much depth… What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. On first look,I liked the London building reflected best…but now I think maybe the keys to heaven on reflection is more interesting. It is an impressive collection of images from your “humongous” store.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Loved your photos and was especially curious about the keys so thanks for that explanation! Hope you got through with the test … and that you’l take some time out for some R+R even if it’s only 5 mins (which may give you enough time to write us another cute verse like the one at the end of this post) 🙂 Until I visit you again, here’s my take on the challenge: enjoy!
    https://galeweithers.wordpress.com/2014/11/28/a-sampling-of-barcelona-architecture-and-other-miscellaneous-angular-thoughts/

    Like

Leave a Reply

