Daily Prompt: Odd Trio and Musical Maestros

As someone almost old and considerably wiser than I was in my youth, I look back in reflection considering how much easier it would be to learn any musical instrument than it is now. When I begged for music lessons, I was declined with the explanation given that I was not musically gifted enough to ever play professionally therefore I could pay for my own lessons when I was earning my own money.

Fair enough. It would have cut into the bags and shoes budget unfairly and besides I had tennis lessons with a professional coach (despite having no real affinity with tennis to begin with) and that was enough to demonstrate that I wasn’t cut out to be a Wimbledon tennis player.

Yes, it made about as much sense to me too.

So onward and upward, I figure that although I definitely don’t have the right voice for singing, my voice is incredibly relaxing for guided meditation – check out my rainbow meditation for a trippy treat (under no circumstances attempt to operate heavy machinery while listening. Yes, that includes the lawnmower)… And I also don’t have the coordination for piano and drums, I tend to overthink and lose rhythm.

But I have a deep and abiding appreciation for good music, especially classical because the instruments produce the right tones and frequencies.

Good music is defined by the sound and intangible substance that raises the hair on everyone’s arms, because it’s just that perfectly harmonious!

Grab a cake, kick off your flip-flops and prepare for the sheer awesomeness of these two performances of classical music taken to a different level, reminding us that for all our nonsense, we human beings, inhabitants of Planet Earth, are capable of amazing feats, and we really need to spend more time focusing on what connects us, rather than what separates us.

Ode to Joy, Beethoven Symphony 9 delivered Flash mob style in Sabadell Bank in Spain, 2012 and might I add, the most amazing performance. I wish I’d been blessed to be there like those wonderful folk standing there with their hair blown all backwards!

Wow! The sound wave energy evokes almost speechless hyperbole.

The next musician is an orchestra accompanied by a gifted drummer who plays as naturally as if the beats were just part of himself coming out through his body.

Russian drummer Lyonya Shilovsky is three years old, performing with the Novosibirsk Symphony Orchestra. The song is Jacques Offenbach’s “Orpheus in the Underworld,” also known as “The Can-Can.”

Today’s theme was inspired by the Daily Prompt…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/odd-trio-redux/

Time for another Odd Trio prompt: write a post about any topic you want, in whatever form or genre, but make sure it features a slice of cake, a pair of flip-flops, and someone old and wise.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Odd Trio and Musical Maestros

  1. In my case I just don’t seem to have the ability to play any instruments at all despite my love for music, I have tried time and again and believe me, I could scare a flock of crocs out of a river! :O

    Like

Leave a Reply

