Daily Prompt: Scary, Cringe-worthy and Tacky

Scary

still-of-elijah-wood-in-maniac-(2012)-large-picture
We’re not in the shire anymore, Mr Baggins

The remake of Maniac in 2012 with Elijah Wood, the movie was so good (at least four and a half stars out of five) that I had to watch to the end, but there were several scenes where I had to look away because I didn’t want to have those gory events inserted anywhere in my visual memories.

I think the horror genre has become too hardgore. I prefer movies that have humour, aren’t filmed entirely at midnight, and where most of the scary action takes place off camera (and in the mind). I’m thinking Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, Trick or Treat – you know, scary but funny.

Cringe-worthy

inbetweeners_about_320
In Betweeners – Because that’s how you go to Thorpe Park
maxresdefault
Josie discovers why she shouldn’t become a dentist

The Inbetweeners (Damon Beesley and Iain Morris) and Fresh Meat (Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain) are two British comedies that thrive on their cringe-worthiness. They are by and large, well written situational comedies but guaranteed to raise a cringe or seven per episode.

The first time I was exposed to cringe-humour was when I watched The Office (Ricky Gervais) and at the time I wasn’t sure about whether it was funny or stupid, but giving it a chance, and relating it back to real things that happened in places I worked in the past, I started to see the humorous merit. I’m still not immune to cringing though.

Unbelievably Tacky

An Idiot Abroad series three where Warwick Davis joins Karl Pilkington along the Marco Polo route. It’s clear that the two of them have very different values, playing one off against one another. There were moments that were unbelievably tacky (cringeworthy too), in a “I can’t believe you are paying to watch a freak show with Warwick Davis so clearly upset by it!” kind of way.

karl-pilkington-celebrity-136046788
Just Karl

Thinking back to the first two, there was a lot of tackiness – many many facepalms – but it’s still my favourite travel series of all time because Karl is just naturally hilarious, his reactions authentic, and his observations genuine.

 

 

 

 

When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe-worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Scary, Cringe-worthy and Tacky

  1. The ‘Saw’ movies make me have to cover my eyes. But I quit watching scary movies when my husband died, as there is no one to tell me what is going on while my eyes are covered!!!

    Like

    1. That’s a painfully sad comment 😦 yet still so wry (hug). It occurs to me that audio assistance should be made widely available in horror movies to provide a reassuring companion voice to the intrepid souls among us unafraid to watch them alone.

      Like

  2. There might be money in that you know…:) Thank you for the hug. I’ve always preferred psychological thrillers and who-done-its more than the gore fest, monster-y, how many ways to kill a teen having illicit sex genres.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome… I actually prefer good, borderline ridiculous, OTT action movies like the A-Team, RED and the Expendables… and pretty much anything with Bruce Willis and super complex madcap bike, car, trolley, helicopter etc. chases…

      Like

      1. I don’t know that I could limit my preferences. I’m all over the place, like with my music. I do like action movies as well. I’m on a feel-good run right now, with “Exotic Marigold Hotel”, “Fly Fishing in the Yemen” and “Princess Bride” lately. I run very late on movie-watching, usually years behind, as theatres are just too pricey and between working full-time and blogging three blogs, not a lot of free time, lol! Oh, and family too. I need 48 hour days!

        Like

      2. Love “Exotic Marigold Hotel” and the “Princess Bride”, “Fly Fishing in the Yemen” has been recommended to me many times, I think I need to take the hint… I don’t dedicate much time to movies, I figure life has to take precedence, though an occasional 48 hour day would be useful to catch up on the good stuff 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

