Daily Prompt: Intensity – Surprisingly delighted by yoga app

I have a confession, I love yoga. I think that yoga is the king, queen and princess of fitness and well being. I know that everyone who loves yoga says that, but really if you haven’t given it a try – you really should.

I have a dream that one day I’ll teach yoga. It’s an old chestnut that got shoved into the box room of my ambitions when I had a baby — and now three years down the line, I have so much further to go, to get to where I was, before it all (literally) went pear-shaped.

Finding motivation in this situation is usually difficult, tomorrow always seems preferable to now and it’s not like I don’t have a great teacher — actually she’s brilliant — but I just can’t seem to get to a class at a consistent time and date, and not for lack of trying either!

The thing about yoga for me is not only is it an excellent way to relax and unlock repetitive strains, but it also helps run a system check on your whole body at the same time. Listening to your body, you may sometimes get a sense that something is off in your alignment, something you’d miss if you didn’t go through a full range of stretches designed to get your energy (called prana or chi) flowing.

I’ve tried yoga at home with mixed success… it’s just not quite the same, writing up my own routines, having to worry about the clock, the list and not always in the position to correct a weak posture. I know enough to practice, but I think that it’s difficult to relax when focused on too many logistics.

I still own a yoga DVD, but as with writing my own routines, fiddling around with the DVD remote was too distracting and so the point of the yoga itself was lost. I also once bought the Wii Yoga programme which I really didn’t like at all!

Then I found the best app I have ever seen for yoga… naturally sceptical, I read the reviews and taking the plunge, bought it.

Wow! What an incredibly well-made app. It’s nicely arranged, the programmes are really good and there’s a calendar for geeks like me to track our yoga time. The different classes are perfectly timed, the instructions are useful for checking weak posture – but really for people familiar with the asanas to begin with and you can pause it if you need to.

The app is called All-in-YOGA: 300 Poses & Yoga classes and is on special offer at the moment. I don’t get anything out of promoting them other than sharing such a brilliant app with brilliant people interested in yoga. I wasn’t expecting to be so blown away, but since finishing my first session this morning, I’m intensely delighted that I have a solution to get back on track to accomplishing a long-held dream.

20131105-180546.jpg

This post stands on its own, but is also relevant to the theme of today’s Daily Post: Intensity – Describe the last time you were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something, or were surprised at how strongly you reacted to something you thought wouldn’t be a big deal.

24 Comments

  1. I adore yoga and for me it’s been a life changing experience — it works in a multifaceted way and leaves me feeling calm whilst at the same time energised, also it stretches out the aches of the morning very well. I’ll look into that app, thanks šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I too love yoga. I think the key is finding the right level of yoga. So many people are put off because they go to a mixed level ability class and see people standing on their heads etc – whereas actually just some simple restorative yoga nidra is enough for some people. I count myself lucky as I recently found a yoga teacher who used to suffer from the same fatiguing health condition as myself & has therefore taught me where to start from in yoga. In the past I would jump in at a level that was far too hard for me & be put off; but now I love it!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your thoughts, I absolutely agree with you…. I think yoga is best when the ego is left outside and you must be comfortable in your surroundings to experience the benefits… although advanced postures are impressive – and usually the result of dedication, yoga more about the experience of being in the present moment, balancing, breathing, stretching and enabling the knots and pains to unwind while easing the mental chatter … for me anyway. šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Oh, you make me want to try it again. I’ve lost 60 lbs since the last time I tried it. Did not have much success but I had a huge amount of weight on me then. My problem is whenever I attempt any exercise, even yoga, I get rebound pain and my muscles tighten up to the extreme….and it takes days or weeks for it to calm down. But my body is screaming for movement…..yoga would be my number one choice if I could do anything. I wonder if I should try it again. I want to so bad but a few years ago, I just told myself….that I would not put myself through the disappointment and frustration of trying to do things that my body did not respond to. Unfortunately that is about every exercise program under the sun. My main problem is the inflammation in my feet….which makes even walking for exercise out of the question. Maybe if I start slow with just a few simple poses. My favorites from when I did it years ago was Child Pose and the one where you are laying on your stomach and you push up your upper body with your arms….what a great stretch through your abdominal area…ohhhhh……and of course, who doesn’t love Downward Facing Dog!!! šŸ™‚ I wonder where I put my yoga mat……?? LOL If I try this, I will let you know. I’m afraid to but at the same time, the desire is so strong.

    Like

    1. If you’re worried about rebound pain, you might want to consider using bands to assist your movements, they give you a little extra help by taking the weight off, and go easy on your joints — and I wouldn’t recommend trying a headstand off the bat šŸ™‚ … but I think the stretching, twisting asanas – a little, once or twice a week, will give you a mental and physical benefit, and may help you determine whether this is something you could do more regularly. Before purchasing the app, perhaps try a Salute to sun (Surya Namaskar) as a system diagnostic — I’m positive there’s a Youtube video out there. šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. thanks Nicola, that’s a great idea. I will look for the Surya Namaskar Youtube video. I will have to start really slow. My muscles are so tight. Thanks for the suggestions!! (and note to self: no headstands right away!!! LOL)

        Like

      2. Good luck Teeks55, please take it easy and listen to the signs your body gives you. I can only give suggestions based on what I might do (I’ll send you a virtual reiki hug for good fortune too) šŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Yoga is essential for me to manage my pain levels and gauge where I am that day.
    Thank you for this recommendation, at the moment I’ve just been making up my sessions as I go (because they’re so short at the moment) but having something to follow would be great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

