Thoughts Adrift

Thoughts Adrift

Tonight I worked on a recent picture – a daisy in a bunch of flowers – something I enjoy doing, followed by browsing around reading quotes. I sometimes do this when I can’t quite pinpoint what I’m feeling, or what I want to write about.

Nothing really struck me as particularly wow, until I thought about the author of these:

We are so much the victims of abstraction that with the Earth in flames we can barely rouse ourselves to wander across the room and look at the thermostat. – Terence McKenna

Animals are something invented by plants to move seeds around. An extremely yang solution to a peculiar problem which they faced. – Terence McKenna

What is unusual about Earth is that language, literally, has become alive. It has infested matter. It is replicating and defining and building itself. And it is in us. – Terence McKenna

The imagination is the golden pathway to everywhere. – Terence McKenna

Well there you have it, that’s what I came away with, some of the gems of perhaps one of the most underrated thinkers of our age, Terence McKenna -the (sha)man who directed generations of seekers in ways that will probably never be fully documented in the official version of history.

Now I’m off to lay down in a darkened room and ponder the meaning of life.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

