Blogger blogging blogs

Into the LightWith all the best intentions in the world, I find it difficult to blog.

When it comes to writing stories and novels, I can knuckle down and zone into my characters and worlds for hours  and enjoy each phase of the creative journey while time simply suspends.

However, when it comes to blogging, the opposite occurs… I tend to staring at a blank screen for ages, all the ideas I had, evaporate and I can think of nothing to say that I think anybody would want to know, let alone read… and even worse I begin so many posts and after shoving word, sentences an punctuation all over the place I give up feeling like I’ve wasted a perfectly good hour.

However to publish these days, blogging is an important skill to acquire – or so I’m led to believe.
It makes sense because blogs:

  • Increase content, improving search rankings
  • Attract new visitors who may also be interested in what I may write about
  • Provide opportunities to link with other writers who are also blogging to increase their web profile (safety in numbers)

I’ve been a WordPress blogger for over a year now and I don’t have a lot to show for it apart from being connected to other great writers. I don’t always have the time to read everything, but the wordsmiths I follow are all champion bloggers in their own right, and the articles that I do make time to read, are awesome that I wonder whether I even have what it takes to be a professional writer.
For me there are three blogworthy qualities:

  • Prolific ideas and insightful expression
  • Observational humour
  • Continuity and consistency

Have you ever noticed that when you search for information, the top several pages of the search engine all tend to list repeats of the same information written in slightly different ways? For example search for “nutritional benefits of anchovies” (no, I have no financial renumeration linked to this search string…) and you’ll find that everyone has discovered the exact same five benefits of eating anchovies – presumably that came from somewhere – and they write about the benefits of eating anchovies as if it was their own discovery.
This is where blogging is different. Certainly with the people I follow, I like that their work is:

  • Personal and honest – written in the first person, with firsthand experience
  • Well-written – there’s always a joy in reading something that’s snappy, literary and thought-provoking
  • Creative

My personal hurdles regarding blogging:

  • Defining the purpose and scope – I have a brain that incessantly chatters, linking everything together and I find it quite challenging to distill everything into a core essence. I suppose that’s why the Chronicles of an Incessant Thinker might work – or may end up yet another piece of cyber real estate wasteland.
  • Self-esteem – I just don’t know if I’m good enough. In the snide words of a publisher woman I met, ‘Not everyone who thinks they can write, can.’
  • People who are having a bad day might be mean to me – which means that I may be mean back – which makes me frown – which leads to wrinkles. Who wants extra wrinkles?
  • People who know me will read this – they already know I’m a little eccentric, but will this push me over the edge resulting in terminal rejection?

So there it is, all my quirks, foibles and fears about blogging laid out for the world to see. Probably some crooked thinking in there that requires straightening out. Actually I think I’ve just realised that I needed to frame this sensibly as a way to break free from the shadows.

So going forward, I’m endeavouring to write prolifically, occasionally insightful and humorous, ensuring that I add a little pieces of who I am and aim to give continuity and consistency throughout what I write. There – no pressure, eh? I suppose if I add that it doesn’t need to be the case for every post… I can work my way up to perfection.

What do you think about the blogging world?
Are you a champion blogger or do you relate to what I’ve written?
I’d love to hear your comments, and I’m always on the lookout for cool bloggers blogs.

Q: How many times have I used the word blog in this article?
A: Often enough for the word to lose some of its meaning.

Blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog, blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

